Management & Booking

Crooked Tree Creative


© 2017 by Earth Radio.


Earth Radio is a unique collective of musicians based in Grand Rapids, Michigan, that are pushing the boundaries of R&B to a new level. The band formed in August 2017 when bass player Justin Avdek brought these unique West Michigan musicians together for a spontaneous recording collaboration, which took place in the cozy basement of his parents’ log cabin in Muskegon. Their artistic exploration approach to writing left members without expectation of the sound that would be created. In just two weeks, they wrote and recorded 10 songs, one of which was nominated for Song of The Year in the 2019 Jammie Awards (Mall Walkin'). Since the release of their self-titled album in March 2018, their music has been well received by the community, hitting the top of the charts as WYCE’s most played album. The excitement continued throughout the year and the band was awarded “Emerging Artist of The Year” and “Best Jazz Album of 2018” for the 2019 Jammie Awards. In 2019 they released their second album, titled Mother’s Breath, toured around Michigan, Indiana, and Ohio, and played at 8 different Michigan music festivals. 


Earth Radio is currently gearing up to record their third album at Third Coast Recording Studios, which is expected to be released sometime this year. Although it is difficult to define the music produced by Earth Radio, one can expect a soul-filled experience, journeying through the dimensions of sound and mind. The current members of Earth Radio are Justin Avdek (bass/effects), Hannah Laine (vox, piano), Dutcher Snedeker (keyboards, synth), Madison George (drums/percussion), and Travis Swanson (guitar).



// bass


Justin Avdek is a widely known musician in West Michigan. He has played bass in many local groups including the Tommy Foster Band, the Mark Lavengood Band, The Underground Circus, Winnow, The War & Treaty, and with Eric Engblade. Justin has released several albums as Justin Avdek and the Underground Circus, the most recent titled You Are What You Sleep. He loves to make sounds.


// keyboards


Dutcher Snedeker is a Masters graduate from  WMU and an active performer around West Michigan. He has performed with many West Michigan musicians and bands including Brad Fritcher, Benjaman James, The Underground Circus, the WMU Symphonic Band, Blushing Monk, and The War & Treaty. He is also one of the directors behind Art Music For All (AMFA), an arts organization dedicated to New Music.


// vocals


Hannah Laine is a soulful vocalist, songwriter, and pianist from Grand Rapids, Michigan. Her musical journey began at a young age, as she sang and performed with her father. Much of Hannah's inspiration in songwriting comes from various spiritual leaders and artists; including Ram Dass, Erykah Badu, Nai Palm, Stevie Wonder, Queen Afua, Zap Mama, and Mother Earth. Shortly prior to the birth of Earth Radio, Hannah released her debut solo EP titled Cut Your Strings. In addition to her ventures with Earth Radio and her solo performances, Hannah Laine practices yoga, meditation, and sound healing. 



Madison George is a former jazz studies student at Western Michigan University. He has appeared in various West Michigan groups including Lushh, Hip Pocket, Michigander, and The War & Treaty. Madison joined Earth Radio in October 2018, succeeding Hayaman Mana Tzach, who still makes occasional appearances. Madison has recently been invited to go on tour with The War & Treaty, starting in March 2020! Stay tuned for updates on Madison's journey and a new Earth Radio lineup.

TRAVIS SWANSON// guitar (not pictured)


Travis Swanson has come a long way from tiny Palmer in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula in a very short time.  Accepted at Berklee, he decided that self-study and hard time on the bandstand would produce better results, and played swing, roots, funk, and jazz, but mainly blues, with a variety of groups. In 2019, Travis left Earth Radio to pursue a Masters degree at University of Michigan in Jazz Improvisation. Travis has recently returned to the group with a pocketful of new songs for their next album. He expects to finish his Masters within the year.